A Moment on my Soap Box!

It is Your Responsibility To Share The Old Ways With The Next Generation!!

I feel very personal about this topic.  I feel it is our responsibility as women to share our knowledge and the centuries of the knowledge of the wise women that have come before us.

Many of the old ways are being lost because we no longer share with the next generation.

Each of us have gifts inside of us that we can share. 

 Before you think no you don’t – wait and consider – Did you wake this morning? Did you change your clothes from night clothes to day clothes? If you have children – did you wake them? Get their clothes changed?
By doing those simple actions you followed complex steps that took forethought and preparedness – you needed to plan a time to wake – either by clock or your own body.  You had to choose clothing to switch into – know the weather so as to be warm enough.  You had to communicate with other people and convince them to do as you wished – not stay in bed all day or better yet – go to school or out to do chores naked.  Anyone one who has had to convince a sleepy warm child or spouse – to get out of their warm bed to go do the morning milking and chores in winter knows the first step is to get you to get out of your warm bed and roust them. I do it with bribes of hot cocoa, hot coffee and hot food – when they come in – it works for me too.

We can teach by example.  We can teach a craft – needlework, cooking, gardening, the list is endless.  We can talk to them and share experiences – history didn’t begin with written words – it begain with the passes on of stories and information.

Don’t Let the history of all who have come before us fade away as if it means nothing! 

Share the older ways, stories, crafts and skills with the next generation!

Start today!

About dorifritzinger

I have been a freelance writer since the days of typewriters and snail-mail. My home life centers around a large multi-generational family and our small family farm. I am a woman, wife, mother, grandmother, daughter and mentor. In my free time I love to read, quilt, do embroidery, grow herbs & study herbology, history and languages.
This entry was posted in Family Musings, Writings and Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Moment on my Soap Box!

  1. Little Sis says:

    Hi Doris!

    I can’t agree with you more. One thing I have found is that too many of the younger generation don’t want to learn from the older women in their lives! What a sad commentary. But, they need to learn from us and perhaps when their thinking has cleared, they’ll be willing to learn. We can only hope. Great post!

  2. dorifritzinger says:

    This maybe true that the young ones seem to not want the knowledge. This is one on the reasons we need to write the knowledge down. So when they wisen up with age and we have gone on to our rest they still have the knowledge to share in the future.
    Dori

  3. Jesi says:

    I agree with you, Dori. And perhaps if we had started teaching our children the old ways sooner, they would be grasping for the knowledge that is offered to them.

  4. Micki says:

    I agree! I wish I’d spent more time learning to can, garden, crochet and sew with my mother and grandmother. Thankfully, I eventually picked up those skills, but it would have meant more coming from them. It’s great to have a meaningful purpose in life beyond hooking up to an electronic entertainment box.

  5. Elizabeth says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more. It’s scary when I see my young children do more than my neighbors teenagers. The generation coming up has never had to work for money; they have Mom and Dad to give it to them. They never had to mow the lawn, or get a job to buy their own things. I have taught my children how to cook, bake, write stories, and truly enjoy the little things in life.

Leave a Reply

