Learning to Travel in This New World

I haven’t traveled by myself since before 9/11.

What a difference!! The entire experiece was near over whelming. I will state the reminder that: This was also my first trip alone since my stroke. But still the attitude was so tense you could cut it.

Ticket and baggage check-in went well, my husband’s assistance was a big help moving the suitcase with my cane. I ask and explained the steel in my for assistance at Security and was asssured it would be provided. Oh it was – Routine I knew: Shoes: off in pan, Purse in seperate pa. n all jewerly: off & in pan. Coat: off in pan. Cane turned over TSA to be scanned – loud area, many people talking to me all at once, crowded, very busy to get volume of people through. I stuggled to not fall or and follow directions. I went through the scan and set it all off – then was scaned with hand-held. Set it off – then patted down finally cleared – after detaining everyone behind me in the line – (the airport I was using is very busy, a large line quickly formed) Glad they are being careful But you couldn’t pay me a million dollars to do their job!!! We need to say Thank You to all our TSA people and keep them in our prayers They Need It.

Trip back home a breeze totally!! I was sick to stomach as we pulled into the airport, I was so nervous of going through that again. Not to worry, different airport, different set-up.

Dori

About dorifritzinger

I have been a freelance writer since the days of typewriters and snail-mail. My home life centers around a large multi-generational family and our small family farm. I am a woman, wife, mother, grandmother, daughter and mentor. In my free time I love to read, quilt, do embroidery, grow herbs & study herbology, history and languages.
This entry was posted in Family Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

