The Vacation Begins

My aunt met me at luggage claim – smiles, hugs and kisses abound. I haven’t seen her since my uncle’s funeral and although we write and talk often, the touch and hold means so much more.

We have always been close. She is the widow of my father’s youngest brother Earl.

Obit blog entry can be found at:
https://doriswanderings.wordpress.com/2008/12/18/in-memory-of-my-uncle-earl/

We went to her condo located a hour or so frome airport and relaxed some – went to a early dinner with a couple who are dear to my aunt. Since I tend to travel with my stomach – I will start my journey with a wonderful meal at Romano’s Macaroni Grill in Carmel, IN

I sarted with their appetizer plate of Mediterranean Olives – Wonderful!! not too salty, firm, perfect mouth-feel. There a was a good variety of types, black, red, green; all twith a dipping bowl of hot bread and Exrtra Virgin Olive Oil – Just the memory Oh.

Followed by – Shrimp Portofino – here is the menu discription but it does not come close – ( I truely felt if the food was going to all be this good – I wouldn’t fit in the plane to go home – if I ever left) “Jumbo shrimp sauteed with fresh spinach, mushrooms and pine nuts in a lemon butter sauce. Served with imported capellini pasta”

We share a bottle of the Chianti – (the House Wine – Tuscan style) that was comforting and took the bumps off the trip.
I then waddled off to the car and slept soundly even in a new place and bed.

About dorifritzinger

I have been a freelance writer since the days of typewriters and snail-mail. My home life centers around a large multi-generational family and our small family farm. I am a woman, wife, mother, grandmother, daughter and mentor. In my free time I love to read, quilt, do embroidery, grow herbs & study herbology, history and languages.
This entry was posted in Family Musings, Recipes and Foods and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

